top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSkylar Holland

Finding a job during a pandemic!



Hi Everyone!


Today I want to talk about finding a job during a pandemic!


After Graduating with my bachelors degree in 2019 I found myself back home in my small town working for a local Interior Designer part time and not really knowing where to go from there. Fast forwards to March 2020 when the world completely flipped on its axes. I found myself unemployed for a period of time and not knowing where to go from there. For several months I had all the time in the world to think and plan out my next move. I tossed around the idea of going to school a masters degree for a period of time before decided that it was to soon and I wasn’t where I wanted to be in life yet to begin that journey.


Shortly after my 21st birthday in April of 2020 I made the decision that it was time to start the hunt for a full time Interior Design Job outside of my home town. This was an extremely difficult decision for me for a multitude of reasons. The idea of moving away from my home town, my family and everything I am use to in general terrified me and then throw a pandemic into the mix I was absolutely terrified but I knew this was the right decision for me.


The hunt for a job was not easy. I searched for several months in a multitude of city’s and states looking for Interior Design firms wanting to hire during the height of a pandemic. I applied to over 150 jobs in the course of 4 months with little to no traction. It wasn’t until August of 2020 that I finally had a lead on full time position in New Hope, Pennsylvania. New Hope is located near the Philadelphia area and to be perfectly honest the idea of living so close to such a big city terrified me and still does a lot of days.


Going into the interview process I wanted to keep an open mind and not let my fears jade me from the not pursuing the path I was meant to be on. The interview process for this position took some time and at first I was turned down for the position. After about a month the company reached back out to me to see if I was still interested in the position and would like to continuing on with the interview process. I was finally offered a full time position at Gacek Design Group in August of 2020 and began work at the end of September. At the time excepting this position was one of the scariest things I have ever done but in that moment I knew that this was the path that I was meant to take.


In September of 2020 after one of the most difficult and trying times for me and my family I packed up and made the move to Philadelphia where the only two people I knew and would have within a 1-hour radius of myself was going to be my older sister and my best friend from college. Change is never easy and can be extremely scary especially when you are making multiple changes all at once!


Overall if there is any advise I can give from my experience of trying to find a job during a pandemic it would be as follows;


One.

Make yourself as marketable as possible!

For me that meant making sure my portfolio was up to date and in the best shape possible. As a general rule of thumb for any job its things like making sure resume and cover letter are up to date and portraying the information to best reflects your skills for the position you are looking to gain.


Two.

Continue to grow!

Many hiring managers will keep candidate files on standby for up to a year. Maybe you didn’t get the position the first time around but later down the line they may pull your file again and one thing I have learned through this process is that if you are able to show improvement and growth in a sort amount of time to a hiring manager it makes you much more Marketable for a position!


Three.

Finally, Never give up!

I know at times it can be very overwhelming and extremely discouraging when you aren’t hearing back from jobs or there just are not a lot of positions open in the field you are looking in but keep your head up and pursue on! You are not alone and many right now are experiencing the same struggles! The right job will come along it just takes time!


These tips apply for search for a job during any season life and circumstances in the world! Your time will come just be patient!


Until next time!


Skylar

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page